Franklin Town Board – November 7, 2014

The text version of the minutes in this post was created with optical character recognition (OCR) software. While every attempt has been made to verify the text, accuracy is not guaranteed. Please refer to the PDF version of the minutes in the link below to see an exact version as received from the Town of Franklin.

Download PDF copy of Franklin NY Town Board Minutes – November 2014

The public hearing for the Town budget opened at 7:30 p.m. Present were David Grant, Garret Sitts, Lisa Huyck, Donald Smith, Supervisor Jeff Taggart, Highway Superintendent Mark Laing and Paul Warner. Also present were Jamie Archibald, Ken Walter, William Young, Brian Brock, Linda Bevilacqua, Pete Bevilacqua, Donald Hebbard, Gene Hebbard, Jane Hebbard, Cindy Beach, Elizabeth Serrao, Jack Law, Dwight Bruno and reporter Caitlin Stevens.

Paul Warner indicated the fire district budget for 2015 is $203,230.10. An increase of $500.00 for the Town Clerk position was requested. Also, Don Smith indicated he would rather have the total raise of $800.00 being proposed for the 4 Town Board members be given to someone else. A suggestion of an additional increase of $300.00 to Highway Superintendent Mark Laing and an increase of $500.00 to Paul Warner was made. Supervisor Jeff Taggart closed the budget hearing at 7:45 p.m.

The regular monthly meeting was called to order by Supervisor Jeff Taggart. The minutes from the October 7, 2014 meeting were read. A change was made to indicate that a computer and a computer program is needed to assist with equipment repairs at the highway garage. With that change Don Smith made a motion to accept the minutes. David Grant seconded the motion and all present agreed.

Ken Walter reported for the Kellogg-Franklin Trust. The gate has been installed to block the A.L. Kellogg School emergency access road. Jim Carey was elected to their Board for a 5 year term. Velten’s Landscaping will mow the athletic fields in 2015.

Mark Laing reported for the Highway Department. He will be renewing the permit for the gravel bank. The permit will be good for 5 years. In regards to the natural gas pipeline he will be mapping the roads and wants bonding for the roads. Video and pictures of the roads as well as core boring will be done. A road use agreement has not been finalized.

A used grader located in Virginia will be auctioned and Mark would like to participate in the auction. It is a 1998 grader with approximately 7,200 hours on it Don Smith made a motion to bid up to $30,000.00 at the auction. Garret Sitts seconded the motion and all agreed. Mark would like to sell the motor from the truck that was bought from the County.

Jane Hebbard would like the Town to apply for funds provided by the Constitution Pipeline Community Grant program. She also inquired about establishing a noise ordinance. Jeff indicated that that issue was addressed several years ago and the ordinance was not approved.

Concern was expressed about the compressor station for the proposed Tennessee Gas Pipeline. Plans indicate that the station will be located in Franklin. The concern was regarding the noise and air pollution and for our local emergency services in case of an accident.

Cindy Beach inquired if a survey regarding fracking had been looked into yet. Jeff indicated he would check into it.

Jack Law expressed his concern about the power line and its proposed route. He would like to be protected from the power line companies as well as the pipeline companies.

In regards to the proposed budget, with the fire district amount changed to $203,230.10 and the changes made from the requests in the public hearing, Don Smith made a motion to accept the budget with a total amount raised by taxes of $1,317,382.10. Lisa Huyck seconded the motion and all agreed.

The Town Justice financial records were audited and found to be in order. Lisa Huyck made a motion to accept the findings. Jeff Taggart seconded the motion and all agreed.

Vouchers were submitted for audit and payment.

With no further business to come before the Board, Garret Sitts moved for adjournment at 9:10 p.m. Don Smith seconded the motion and all agreed.