Franklin Town Board – December 30, 2014

The minutes of the December 30, 2014, Town Board Minutes are posted below this video recording of the meeting.

The text version of the minutes in this post was created with optical character recognition (OCR) software. While every attempt has been made to verify the text, accuracy is not guaranteed. Please refer to the PDF version of the minutes in the link below to see an exact version as received from the Town of Franklin.

Download PDF copy of Franklin NY Town Board Minutes – December 30, 2014

The regular monthly meeting of the Franklin Town Board was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Supervisor Jeff Taggart. Present were Don Smith, Garret Sitts, David Grant, Lisa Huyck, Supervisor Jeff Taggart, Highway Superintendent Mark Laing , Paul Warner and Attorney Joseph Ermeti. Also present were KenTaylor, Charlene Parslow, William Young, Donald Hebbard, Shirley Ferguson, Jamie Archibald, Sonia Johns, Cheryl Petersen, Gene Marner, Carol Marner, Pete Bevilacqua, Linda Bevilacqua, Rosemarie Cleaveland, Cindy Beach, Dale Beach, Edmond Rinooy Kan, Kaima Nelson Bowne, Peter Herenberg, Dawn Ritz, Lodie Marsh, Jason Starr, Nancy Cloonan, John Cloonan, Cathy McNulty, Craig Stevens, David Plance, William Huston, Roger Reed, Ray Kemble, CJ Parslow, and Marjorie Kellogg.

The minutes from the December 2, 2014 meeting were read. Don Smith made a motion to accept the minutes as read. Garret Sitts seconded the motion and all present agreed.

Concerns regarding the Constitution Pipeline and a proposed compressor station were expressed. Concerns about possible health and safety problems were stated and it was suggested that a health study be done by the County prior to any construction. The adoption of a noise ordinance was suggested as well as a ban on bringing into the Town of Franklin fracking wastes from other areas. In regards to the comprehensive plan, Don Hebbard stated that the plan did not allow the building of a pipeline.

Mark Laing reported for the Highway Department. He is working on filing the gravel permit and will need the assistance of an engineer to complete the process. A proposed road use agreement might be ready for review by mid January. Overhead garage doors need to be replaced.

A resolution was made by Garret Sitts and seconded by Lisa Huyck to allow any necessary bills that have to be paid in January 2015, to be paid. All approved the resolution.

The investment policy was reviewed and no changes were made. Don Smith made a motion to accept the investment policy. Garret Sitts seconded the motion and all agreed.

The procurement policy was reviewed and no changes were made. Garret Sitts made a motion to accept the procurement policy. David Grant seconded the motion and all agreed.

Appointments will be made at the meeting held on January 15, 2015 at 3:15 p.m.

Supervisor Jeff Taggart set the Board meeting dates for the 2015 year. They are 1/15, 2/3, 3/3, 4/7, 5/5, 6/2, 7/7, 8/4, 9/1, 10/6, 11/6, 12/1. The January meeting will start at 3:15 p.m. The February and March meetings will start at 3 :30 p.m. The remaining meetings will start at 7:30 p.m. The March, June, September and December meeting will be held at the Treadwell Firehouse. All other meetings will be held at the Town Garage in Franklin.

Vouchers Were submitted for audit and payment.

With no further business to come before the Board, Garret Sitts moved for adjournment at 9:15 p.m. Don Smith seconded the motion and all agreed.